Wrapper Background
Text-Only Site

Women's Tennis


SACRAMENTO, Calif. - Both the Sacramento State men's and women's tennis teams were voted preseason favorites to win the Big Sky Conference by the league's coaches, the conference announced on Tuesday.

The women's tennis team is coming off its 11th consecutive Big Sky regular season championship, conference tournament title and NCAA tournament appearance. Head coach Dima Hrynashka's squad has won an amazing 92 straight matches against Big Sky foes, including both regular season and postseason meetings.

This season's roster will feature returning first team all-Big Sky selection Rebeca Delgado. Delgado, who spent most of her time at No. 2 and No. 3 singles last season, will be joined by returning singles starters junior Sophie Lohscheidt (No. 4) and junior Katharina Knoebl (No. 5). Sophomores Andrea Gomez-Carus and Chyna Brown and senior Jessica Eung also saw court time last season. The Hornets feature four new freshmen on the 2012-13 roster. Saskia Angerer, Olivia Boija, Jennifer Nguyen and Siobhan Ryan-Bovey will all get a chance to break into the Hornets' top-6 rotation this season.

The Hornets will have to replace three graduated seniors from last year's team, including three-time Big Sky MVP Tatsiana Kapshai at No. 1 singles.

Last year, despite playing every match with four or five freshmen in the primary lineup, the men’s squad posted a 7-1 conference record while winning the Big Sky Tournament championship.

In fact, since joining the league in 1996-97, the men's team has won 10 Big Sky regular season titles (1998-99, 2001-03, 2007-11), 10 tournament championships (1998-99, 2001-03, 2007, 2009-12) and have made nine NCAA Tournament appearances (1999, 2001-03, 2007, 2009-12).

This year, Sacramento State returns all but one player from last year’s singles lineup, including first team all-conference selections Aliaksandr Malko and Marek Marksoo. Malko and Marksoo finished last year as the team’s Nos. 1 and 2 singles players, respectively, and will be joined by fellow lineup returners Sean Kolar (No. 4), Roy Brandys (No. 5) and Tom Miller (No. 6).

Of the current 11-man men’s roster, eight players are returning.

# Team                                        
Points (1st Votes)
1. Sacramento State 100 (10)
2. Northern Arizona 87 (1)
3. Montana 86
4. Northern Colorado 69
5. Montana State 63
6. Eastern Washington 44
  Weber State 44
8. Idaho State 37
9. Portland State 28
10. North Dakota 27
11. Southern Utah 11


# Team                                         Points (1st Votes)
1. Sacramento State 99 (9)
2. Montana 91 (2)
3. Eastern Washington 74
4. Weber State 68
5. Idaho State 66
6. Northern Arizona 58
7. Montana State 53
8. Northern Colorado 36
9. Portland State 30
10. North Dakota 17
11. Southern Utah 11

View: Mobile | Desktop