Text-Only Site



OGDEN, Utah - Sacramento State senior guard Brianna Burgos has been named to the Preseason all-Big Sky Women's Basketball team, the conference announced on Monday.

Burgos was one of just six Big Sky players to earn preseason all-conference honors. Montana's Kayleigh Valley was voted as the preseason league MVP, but after a season-ending injury suffered by Valley, Montana State's Peyton Ferris was elevated to the preseason MVP honor.

In two seasons playing for the Hornets, Burgos has become the best 3-point shooter in the Big Sky Conference. Last season she led the Big Sky and ranked 8th in NCAA Div. I with 3.19 3-pointers made per game while tying the single season program record with 86 made 3-pointers. She did so despite missing the last four games of the season due to injury.

Burgos shot 36.1% from 3-point range last season and is a career 36.8% shooter from long range. Last season she also tied the program record with nine made 3-pointers in a game at Montana State while scoring a career-high 34 points, breaking the program record for points scored in a conference game. She hit at least one 3-pointer in 26 of 27 games with multiple made threes in 21 games last year.

Overall Burgos, who transferred to Sacramento State from Sonoma State as a sophomore, averaged 14.4 points, two rebounds, two assists, and 1.5 steals per game last year, ranking second on the team in scoring. She averaged 15.9 points in Big Sky play and had 20 double-digit scoring games with six 20-point games.

Burgos is also one of the best free-throw shooters in the Big Sky as she shot 50-of-56 (.893) from the free throw line last year, the second best free throw percentage in a season in program history. That included 33-of-35 (.943) shooting from the free throw line in Big Sky play.

Entering her senior season Burgos ranks eighth in program history with 143 made 3-pointers in her career.

2016-17 Big Sky Women's Basketball Preseason All-Conference Team

Most Valuable Player: Peyton Ferris, Montana State

Brianna Burgos, Sacramento State
Delaney Hodgins, Eastern Washington
Geraldine McCorkell, Idaho
Riley Nordgaard, Montana State
Jessica Richardson, Southern Utah