Wrapper Background
Text-Only Site



OAK RIDGE, Tenn. -- The Sacramento State rowing squad will compete in its first-ever NCAA-sanctioned conference championship on Saturday when the team takes part in the 2014 Conference USA Women's Rowing Championship.

The regatta is being held at Melton Hill Lake in Oak Ridge, Tenn., and is the fifth annual Conference USA Rowing Championship. The Hornets joined the league for the first time this year after having never been in an NCAA-recognized conference since gaining intercollegiate status in 1995.

The winner of Saturday's regatta will earn an automatic berth to the NCAA Championship.

Preliminary heats, beginning with varsity eight races, are scheduled to run from 6:00-7:30 a.m. PDT on the 2,000-meter course. The finals will run from 11:20 a.m.-1:00 p.m. PDT, and team and individual awards will be presented at a ceremony at 1:45 p.m. PDT.

The league will determine the team champion based on placement in varsity eight, second varsity eight and varsity four finals for scoring.

The Hornets' varsity eight will race in its heat at 6:10 a.m. PDT against Alabama, Tulsa, Tennessee, Kansas State, and West Virginia. The second varsity eight will race in its heat against the same schools at 6:30 a.m. PDT, and varsity four will go at 6:50 a.m. PDT against San Diego State, Oklahoma, Texas, Kansas State and West Virginia.

Conference USA members Old Dominion and Tulsa sponsor women's rowing. Nine additional programs serve as affiliate members in the league: Alabama, Kansas, Kansas State, Oklahoma, Sacramento State, San Diego State, Tennessee, Texas and West Virginia. Host Tennessee won the team titles in 2010 and 2012, while Oklahoma earned the 2013 NCAA berth and Texas was the 2011 team champion.

Links to heat sheets, event information, and live race results can all be found at Championship Central by clicking here. Also, Tennessee is providing free live video of the event by clicking here. Scoring breakdown can be obtained by clicking here.


Cox - Jennifer Shepherd, s - Michelle Evers, 7 - Kloey Glass, 6 - Rosemary Kloh, 5 - Jessica Smith, 4 - Kim Gross, 3 - Hannah Silberberg, 2 - Antonia Dendrinos, b - Alexandra Santella

Cox - Emily Mauer, s - Courtney Owen, 7 - Danielle Stout, 6 - Erika Busch, 5 - Nika Szyrynski, 4 - Desiree Drab Munoz, 3 - Katie Koehler, 2 - Jill Modean, b - Tawnya Curfman

Cox - Paige Poulin, s - Megan Boggs, 3 - Jasmine Taylor, 2 - Carly Hartman, b - Callie Senna

View: Mobile | Desktop