Wrapper Background
Text-Only Site



Saturday's Race Schedule (pdf)

SACRAMENTO, Calif. -- For the sixth straight year, the Hornet women's rowing squad will compete at the Lake Natoma Invitational this weekend at the Sacramento State Aquatic Center. Racing will take place on Saturday morning and afternoon, as well as Sunday morning.

The nine-team regatta will feature a powerhouse lineup that includes six nationally ranked teams, not to mention five of the top nine programs in the nation. Among those schools coming to the Aquatic Center will be top-ranked Cal, No. 4 USC, No. 6 Brown, No. 7 Stanford, No. 9 Notre Dame and No. 20 San Diego. Oklahoma, which is receiving votes in the poll, will also compete in the regatta with Sacramento State and Kansas. The Hornets are co-hosting the event with Cal.

The Aquatic Center already serves as host to the Pacific-12 Conference Championships every year while also hosting the NCAA Championships six times since 1997, and will so again in 2015 and 2016.

Saturday's racing features a morning (8 a.m. until 9:40 a.m.) and afternoon (3:30 p.m.-5:30 p.m.) session. Sunday's schedule will last from 8:00-9:50 a.m. with boats slotted into finals based on Saturday's results. A complete schedule of both days can be found by clicking on the link above the story or by clicking here. In addition, live results will be available by following @NatomaInvite on twitter.

Sacramento State's varsity eight will compete in two heats on Saturday, with the first coming at 9 a.m. against Cal and San Diego. The Hornets return for their second heat at 5 p.m. against USC and Stanford.

Sacramento State's second varsity eight will compete at 8:30 a.m. and 4:30 p.m., the novice eight will race an A and B boat at 3:30 and 3:40 p.m., respectively, and the varsity four will compete at 8 a.m. and 4 p.m.

USC is the defending Lake Natoma Invitational champion while Cal has won three of the five regatta titles (2009, 2010, 2012). Stanford won in 2011. Trailing USC in the final points standings last season were Cal, Stanford, Notre Dame, Washington State, Wisconsin, Tulsa, Kansas and Sacramento State, respectively.

View: Mobile | Desktop