Text-Only Site



Saturday's Results (pdf)
Sunday's Lane Assignments (pdf)

GOLD RIVER, Calif. – Sacramento State's varsity eight and novice eight both qualified for their respective grand finals on the first day of the Western Intercollegiate Rowing Association (WIRA) Championships Saturday morning at Lake Natoma.

The WIRA's serve as the Hornets' conference championship regatta, and all four of Sacramento State's entries (varsity eight, second varsity eight, novice eight, second novice eight) will compete in their respective grand final tomorrow. The second varsity eight and second novice eight were slotted into tomorrow's grand finals without having to compete in a heat today.

Times for the Hornets' races tomorrow morning are as follows - second novice eight (9:20 a.m.), novice eight (10 a.m.), second varsity eight (10:50 a.m.) and varsity eight (12:20 p.m.). The varsity eight, which is the biggest race in magnitude, is the final race of the day.

Sacramento State's varsity eight, which entered the regatta as the No. 4 seed, finished third in its heat with a time of 7:00.5, trailing Gonzaga (6:43.6) and Loyola Marymount (6:52.9). By virtue of placing in the top three of today's heat, the Hornets' top boat will assume lane six in tomorrow's grand final against Stanford Lightweights, Gonzaga, Saint Mary's, Loyola Marymount and Seattle.

The Hornets' novice eight also placed third in its heat with a time of 7:25.9, and will assume the fifth lane in its grand final tomorrow morning against San Diego State, Gonzaga, San Diego, Orange Coast College and UC Santa Barbara.

Sacramento State's second varsity eight, which entered the regatta as the No. 1 seed, will race in the first lane of its grand final tomorrow against Gonzaga, Loyola Marymount, Saint Mary's, San Diego State and Santa Clara.

The Hornets will have two entries in the second novice eight tomorrow morning, and will race against San Diego State and UC Santa Barbara.

Sunday's competition, which includes the grand final for every event, consists of 27 races (14 on the women's side, 13 on the men's side) beginning at 8 a.m. and running until 12:30 p.m. The awards ceremony will take place at approximately 1 p.m.

Results from every race of the day, and tomorrow's lane assignments can be found by clicking on the link above the story.


Cox - Shelley Zakskorn, s - Kloey Glass, 7 - Kim Gross, 6 - Nneka Anyanwu, 5 - Michelle Evers, 4 - Alexandra Santella, 3 - Erika Busch, 2 - Hannah Silberberg, b - Antonia Dendrinos

Cox - Jennifer Shepherd, s - Courtney Owen, 7 - Angela Alftin, 6 - Dani Reynolds, 5 - Vanessa Verdugo, 4 - Sandra Freeman, 3 - Danielle Stout, 2 - Zully Cruz, b - Nicole Maduri