Wrapper Background
Text-Only Site



SACRAMENTO, Calif. -- For the third straight year, the Hornet women's rowing team will compete in the Lake Natoma Invitational this weekend at the Sacramento State Aquatic Center. Racing will take place on Saturday morning and afternoon, as well as Sunday morning.

The nine-team regatta will feature a powerhouse lineup that includes four nationally ranked teams. Among those schools coming to the Aquatic Center will be fourth-ranked Cal, fifth-ranked Stanford, sixth-ranked Brown and ninth-ranked Wisconsin. In addition, three other teams are currently receiving votes, but not ranked in the top 20 comprised of Tennessee, Oregon State and Notre Dame. Central Florida and Sacramento State round out the regatta field of teams. Sacramento State is hosting the regatta along with Cal.

The Aquatic Center already serves as host to the Pacific-10 Conference Championships every year while also hosting the NCAA Championships seven times since 1997. Not until recently, however, has the Aquatic Center hosted a regular-season regatta of this magnitude.

Saturday's racing features a morning (9:00 a.m. until 10:50 a.m.) and afternoon (3 p.m.-4:30 p.m.) session. Sunday's schedule will last from 8-9:50 a.m. with boats slotted into finals based on Saturday's results. A complete schedule of both days can be found by clicking on the link above the story or by clicking here. In addition, live results will be available via Twitter by clicking on the link above the story or by clicking here.

Sacramento State's varsity eight will compete in two heats, with the first coming at 10:20 a.m. against Brown and Tennessee. The Hornets will return for their second heat at 4:10 p.m. against Stanford and Notre Dame. Sacramento State's second varsity eight will compete at 9:50 a.m. and 3:40 p.m., the novice eight will race at 10:40 a.m., and the varsity four will compete at 9:20 a.m. and 3:10 p.m.

Cal has won the last two Lake Natoma Invitational titles. Trailing Cal in last year's final point standings were Stanford, Washington State, Tennessee, Wisconsin, Louisville, Minnesota, Texas and Sacramento State, respectively.

View: Mobile | Desktop