Text-Only Site



Tournament Brackets (pdf)

SACRAMENTO --  The matchups for the 2017 Wooden Legacy Men's Basketball Tournament have been released, and Sacramento State will play three games during the Thanksgiving Week event with each of those slated to appear on an ESPN network.

Sacramento State is one of eight teams at the three-day tournament which features a 12-game bracket format to be played Nov. 23, 24 and 26 in Southern California. All 12 games during the tournament will be televised on ESPN2, ESPNU, ESPNEWS or ESPN3
With the Big West Conference hosting the event for the 11th time, this year's Wooden Legacy will be played at Titan Gym on the campus of Cal State Fullerton where the school has been hosting the tournament since 2013.
Besides the Hornets and Cal State Fullerton, other schools playing in this year's Wooden Legacy are Georgia (SEC), Harvard (Ivy League), Saint Joseph's (Atlantic 10), Saint Mary's (West Coast), San Diego State (Mountain West) and Washington State (Pac-12).

Sacramento State opens the tournament on Thanksgiving Day at 10 p.m. against San Diego State. That game will be aired on ESPNU. The Hornets will be facing the Aztecs for the first time since a 92-69 loss at then-Cox Arena on Dec. 2, 2000. San Diego State has won three straight in the series and is 3-1 all-time vs. the Hornets. Sacramento State's lone win in the series came at home on Dec. 13, 1956, by a 60-56 score.

On Friday, based on the outcome of Thursday's games, the Hornets will play either Georgia or Cal State Fullerton on ESPN2 or ESPNEWS. All eight teams will be idle on Saturday, and Sacramento State will play again on Sunday on one of the four ESPN networks covering the event.

The Hornets will become the first Big Sky Conference entrant in the tournament. Sacramento State's complete 2017-18 schedule will be released later this month.

Saint Mary's (NCAA), Georgia (NIT) and Cal State Fullerton (CollegeInsider.com) each competed in postseason events last March. The Gaels defeated VCU in the first round of the NCAA Tournament before losing to Arizona. Georgia and Cal State Fullerton dropped their first-round matches to Belmont and Weber State, respectively.

Past Wooden Legacy champions include UCLA (2016), Michigan State (2015), Washington (2014), San Diego State (2013), Cal (2012), Saint Louis (2011), UNLV (2010), West Virginia (2009), Wake Forest (2008) and USC (2007).

All-Session tickets will go on sale on Sept. 13 and can be purchased at fullertontitans.com or by calling (657) 278-2783.  Additional ticket and travel package information can be found on the event web site at www.TheWoodenLegacy.com.
Thursday, November 23
Game 1 - Saint Mary's vs. Harvard, 1 p.m., ESPNEWS
Game 2 - Saint Joseph's vs. Washington State, 3:30 p.m., ESPN3
Game 3 - Georgia vs. Cal State Fullerton, 7:30 p.m., ESPNEWS
Game 4 - San Diego State vs. Sacramento State, 10 p.m., ESPNU
Friday, November 24
Game 5 - Saint Mary's/Harvard winner vs. Saint Joseph's/Washington State winner, 10:30 a.m., ESPNEWS
Game 6 - Saint Mary's/Harvard loser vs. Saint Joseph's/Washington State loser, 1 p.m., ESPN3
Game 7 - Georgia/Cal State Fullerton winner vs. San Diego State/Sacramento State winner, 4 p.m., ESPN2
Game 8 - Georgia/Cal State Fullerton loser vs. San Diego State/Sacramento State loser, 6:30 p.m., ESPNEWS
Sunday, November 26
Game 9 - Game 6 and Game 8 losers, 11:30 a.m. ESPN3
Game 10 - Game 5 and Game 7 losers, 2 p.m., ESPNU
Game 11 - Game 6 and Game 8 winners, 6:30 p.m., ESPN3
Game 12 - Championship - Game 5 and Game 7 winners, 9 p.m., ESPN2