Wrapper Background
Text-Only Site

Men's Basketball


SACRAMENTO, Calif. - The Sacramento State men's basketball team will travel to UC Santa Barbara on Saturday, Feb. 23, in the Ramada Worldwide BracketBusters event, it was announced this afternoon. Tip-off time has yet to be announced.

In its 11th and final year of existence, BracketBusters is a two-day men's college basketball event pitting potential NCAA Tournament hopefuls against each other Feb. 22-23. The event will feature 13 nationally televised games across ESPN2, ESPNU and ESPN3.

The 122-team field will feature teams from 15 conferences: 12 each from Big South, Mid-American Conference and Ohio Valley Conference; 11 from the Big Sky; 10 each from Big West, Metro Atlantic Athletic Conference, Missouri Valley and Southland Conference; nine each from Horizon and Summit Leagues; six from the Western Athletic Conference; four from the Southern Conference; three from the MEAC; and two each from the America East and West Coast Conferences.

Sacramento State will be playing UC Santa Barbara for just the fifth time in school history, as the Gauchos currently own a 4-0 record in the all-time series. The last time the two teams met was a 64-57 Gaucho victory in Sacramento on Dec. 21, 1992. That also happened to be the second year of Div. I play for Sacramento State. The two teams also played during the 1991-92, 1954-55, and 1953-54 seasons.

UC Santa Barbara will play the Hornets inside the Nest next season as part of the agreement.

Sacramento State (10-9, 5-6 Big Sky) plays the first of a season-long three-game homestand tonight when the team hosts Northern Arizona at 7:05 p.m. UC Santa Barbara (7-14, 3-7 Big West) will play a pair of home games this week against UC Davis and Pacific.

The Hornets are 0-2 in BracketBusters play, including a 67-52 loss at Southeast Missouri in 2010-11, and a 79-67 home loss to San Jose State last year.

Big Sky Conference BracketBusters Games
Montana at Davidson (ESPNU)
North Dakota at Nebraska-Omaha
Northern Arizona at Hawai'i
Northern Colorado at UC Davis
Sacramento State at UC Santa Barbara
Weber State at Oral Roberts
Sam Houston State at Eastern Washington
Idaho at Idaho State
Cal State Northridge at Southern Utah
UC Riverside at Portland State
South Dakota at Montana State

View: Mobile | Desktop